West Bengal Panchayat Election Results Live Updates:

The Trinamool Congress (TMC) secured victory in 18,590 gram panchayat (GP) seats in West Bengal, as against the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) which bagged 4,479 seats, as per the data released by State Election Commission on Tuesday.

While CPI(M) and Congress have secured 1,426 and 1,071 GP seats, respectively, independent candidates have won 1,062 seats.

A day after West Bengal witnessed repolling in about 697 booths after violence marred the July-8 panchayat elections killing at least 20, the counting of votes began early morning today.

Held cyclically a year before the Lok Sabha polls, the panchayat elections are considered a precursor to what is to follow in a largely rural state.

The genesis of the Trinamool Congress’s electoral dominance over West Bengal is seen to have been the 2008 panchayat polls, in which it (along with the Congress) punctured the Left Front’s decades-long dominance over panchayat polls, bringing the then ruling coalition’s tally down to just above 50% from the usual returns of 85-90%.

The TMC and the Congress wrested two district Zilla Parishads each from the CPI(M)-led Left Front as well, which was unprecedented, and ran the Left close in several others.

A year later, in the aftermath of the Singur agitation and a consolidation of Congress forces in the TMC,  party upset the Left with a massive victory in the polls, a trend that’s yet to be reversed.

The 2018 panchayat polls, too, were a precursor.

In the wake of the alleged massive rigging and violence in which the results of a huge number of panchayat seats were declared uncontested in favour of the ruling party, the in 2019 made massive gains in the Lok Sabha, running the TMC close.

Categorized in: