The India Broadcasting Company was founded on July 23, 1927, and was India’s first radio company. However, the company was on the verge of bankruptcy in less than three years.

Soon after, in April 1930, All India Radio (AIR) was established as the Indian Broadcasting Service. It was renamed All India Radio on June 8.

Walter Kauffman, an Indian Jewish exile, composed the popular Akashvani melody in 1930.

In 1941, the AIR was transferred to the Department of Information and Broadcasting in British India.
By the time India gained independence, AIR had six radio stations in Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Lucknow, and Tiruchirapalli. However, broadcasting did not begin until 30 years later, on July 23, 1977, in Chennai.

All India Radio (AIR) has been known as ‘Akashvani’ since 1956. The national broadcaster publicly took the moniker Akashvani (voice or message from the heavens) in 1956. Rabindranath Tagore’s 1938 poem of the same name inspired the name. According to historian Chandrika Kaul, he penned the poem for the launch of Kolkata’s first short-wave radio station.

Radio has been a significant part of people’s lives in India since 1927. According to AIR, All India Radio has been helping to enlighten, educate, and entertain the masses, truly living up to its motto ‘Bahujan Hitaya, Bahujana Sukhaya’.

Categorized in: