Filmmaker Karan Johar, RRR actors Ram Charan and NT Rama Rao, and director Mani Ratnam are among those who have been invited to join the prestigious Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences this year.

Karan Johar took to his Instagram on Thursday to express his gratitude at his nomination. “Extending my deepest gratitude for being selected as a member of the academy. 25 years of being in the industry of not just films but storytelling, magic and dreams – it all starts and re-starts here for me,” he wrote.

“It is such a proud moment for all of us in the #RRR family that Ram Charan, MM Keeravaani, Senthil Kumar, ChandraBose, Sabu Cyril, and I have been invited as members for The Academy Awards 2024,” Jr NTR said in a statement.

The Academy has 18 branches for the crafts ranging from acting to writing, and membership is limited to film artists working in the production of theatrically-released motion pictures. Candidates must be sponsored by two Academy members from the branch to which the candidate seeks admission, as per the organisation’s website. Additionally, Academy Award nominees are automatically considered for membership and do not require sponsors.

Categorized in: