Ajit Agarkar, as an assistant coach with DC and as a commentator, earns way more than current annual package of chief selector

The leading candidate for the position of Indian top selector, Ajit Agarkar, gave up his assistant coach position with IPL team Delhi Capitals on Thursday. The BCCI may need to boost the annual compensation of Rs 1 crore provided to the chairman of selectors and Rs 90 lakh for the other members of the panel now that Agarkar’s name is being considered. The BCCI will need to reassess the present compensation structure since Agarkar makes far more as a pundit and assistant coach with DC than the top selector now receives annually.

Agarkar is reportedly in the race for the top position, according to PTI, and the news that he is quitting the franchise makes it obvious that he will be in that position whenever the national selection committee selects the T20 team for the tour to the West Indies.

In fact, the Delhi Capitals announced that Agarkar and former Australian all-rounder Shane Watson will no longer serve as DC support personnel.

“This will always be your home away from home. Thank you for your contributions, Ajit and Watto. Best of luck with your upcoming ambitions, DC tweeted.

Agarkar had previously shown up for a selection interview in 2021, when Chetan Sharma of the North Zone was appointed leader.

Even though Agarkar had just one year remaining in his position after four years as the head of the junior selection committee, Abey Kuruvilla, a former teammate from Mumbai, beat him out.

The 45-year-old former Ramakant Acherkar student was a far more accomplished applicant, having played in 191 ODIs, 26 Tests, and four T20 matches before applying.

However, it was discovered that his nomination was a difficulty for the previous Mumbai Cricket Association administration (2021), and as a result, the BCCI declined to consider his case.

Chetan had strong support from a portion of the board, therefore bringing in Agarkar would have also stopped him from becoming chairman.

Salil Ankola is already on the roster of the current MCA government, therefore there shouldn’t be any issues.

Dilip Vengsarkar and Ravi Shastri are the other two candidates, however it is unknown if one of them has applied for the position.

The problem with Vengsarkar is that he just has one year left on his contract. The maximum tenure for a chairman of selectors is four years, and Vengsakar served in that capacity from 2005 September until 2008.

The BCCI has opted to abandon the tradition of honouring the zonal system, where five zones (North East not currently included) have a representative, as well as the 60-year age restriction.

Categorized in: